User roles

Scribblar users can have a predefined role when set up on our system via the users.add or users.edit methods. Each role maps to certain default capabilities when that user enters a Scribblar room.

These roles are as follows.

Participant 10
No access to any tools including chat, audio or any other tools. The user has a kind of 'watch mode' until an Admin grants permission by clicking the icons next to the user's name or upgrading their role
(see image below)

Participant 20
Slight enhancement to role 10 - this role adds access to text chat but is otherwise identical to role 10.

Participant 30
No access to audio when entering the room. Has access to the chat and board, access to all drawing tools on the right but only limited access to the top toolbar (can only access the 8 left-most buttons plus the pointer). Full access to assets tab.

Participant 40
Same as Participant 30 but access to audio and all of the top toolbar apart from clear page and clear all pages.

Moderator
Same as Participant 40 but access to all of the top toolbar tools.

Admin
Same as Moderator but can also toggle access to chat, board and audio to/from users by clicking icons next to their names in the userlist (see image below).
Can also promote/demote users from role to role during a session.